The Distraction

Dealing

The click of my heels echoed along the cobblestone street as I made my way home one evening. I should have left work hours ago but had been delayed. Now I was looking to make up for lost time by taking the bridge which crossed over the Islet river. It was located on the skirt of Uptown – right before the city crossed over to more of a shady scene. My mamma always said that was no place for a respectable lady. I had been to that side of town before, during the daylight hours, and found it to be safe. What difference would the time of day make?

It made a lot of difference.

The usually busy streets were near empty. Sounds of music and revelry drifted out from the open windows of nearby buildings, and the streetlights cast long shadows upon the ground. Only a few people were milling about. There was a nervous knot in my stomach, and a prickle over my skin, but I kept my eyes alert and head up. All I had to do was cross over the bridge.

Standing by a streetlight, which stood to the side of the bridge, was a man dressed in a black suit and green shirt. The light played shadows across him and slightly hid his face.

“Why’s a girl like you all alone in this part of town?” he said to me as I drew closer.

dealJacen

I turned my attention away from him and made a small change in my direction. If i said nothing maybe he would let me be. My assumption was wrong. As I got to the bridge he stepped closer, causing me to stop unless i wanted to bump against him. “What’s your rush?” he asked.

“I have somewhere I need to be.” I replied.  “Excuse me.”   I sidestepped him to continue on my way. I heard him following behind me.

“And miss out on all the fun?” His voice was deep but held a convincing edge. His hands sought to direct me back to the revelry of the buildings behind me.  “Surly you can stay for a little while…”

I looked behind me. Suddenly the sounds and lights called out to me and I had an urge to see them for myself. I took a step towards it, and then another, before my mamma’s voice sounded off in my head. The most dangerous things are disguised as innocent fun.

I shook my head and looked back across the bridge. It way looked darker now, and uninviting, but it was where I should go. I squared back my shoulders and lifted up my head. “Excuse me,” I said again, with assurance in my voice. “There’s somewhere I have to be.”

For you see, while you’re on your way to where you have to go, there will be things that try to deter you from your path. Don’t be fooled by the glamour and glitz that will make you loose track of your goals.  It may not be easy, but the good things, hardly are.

dealDone


Wearing:

Grim Carter (Thanks for posing with me!)
Outfit: ::Gaberiel:: black military suit with boots
jewelry:  ::Gaberiel:: Achilleus Necklace (long)
 ::Gaberiel:: black fedora

Ryanna (That’s me!)
Glitter Lilith mesh minidress
Hair: TRUTH HAIR Kora [Light Browns] @ The Epiphany
Shoes: Glamistry : ERANTHIS Heels
tattoo: .::Nanika::. Achiga tattoo

Poses found at the current round of Pose Lover!
GLITTER Poses Back Serie #1 & 6
Aerial  – His poses #11, 14, and 20

Shot on location at: – Paris Je T’aime –

4 thoughts on “The Distraction

Leave a Reply

