Why I relay

guardianDone1

I remember it as though it was yesterday.  It was a Wednesday morning and I was packing up my two young boys (ages 1 and 3 at the time) for our trip to my moms house. For two years I witnessed her waging war against the four different cancers that plagued her body. They were all Stage 4, inoperable. She had already defied the doctors expectations by living longer than the time frame they gave her, but every time I saw her, there was a little less life in her eyes.

I took on the task of ferrying my mother back and forth to treatments while my dad went to work. My kids were the only grandkids at the time, and I wanted to give her a bit of joy as I could by letting her see them and hear their laughter as they played.  It was bittersweet.  She would talk about seeing them in school and graduations.  Buying things for their birthdays and going on family vacations.  All things that I knew would never happen. However, for her sake, I played along and always brought the smile and laughter.

I was about to leave the house and my phone rang. It was my sister – she was already at my parents house.  She took the early morning shift there before she had to go to work herself. I had thought it was a standard call – her letting me know what needed to be done and not to be late. She told me that she had a fun conversation with our mom about making pancakes. My sister had gone into the kitchen to make breakfast and, when it was done, she took it to our mother only to find that she had passed away.

There are many people with stories similar to mine. Cancer doesn’t only affect a single person, but it effects the people in their lives. Currently there is no cure for cancer but, if you’re lucky enough to detect it early, your chance of survival is greatly increased.  Relay for Life  – from the American Cancer Society – raises funds to help find a cure for this disease and raise awareness. Throughout the year various campaigns are held throughout the community, and online, to help open people’s eyes.

Hope is – to me – the most powerful weapon we have in the fight against this disease. Even if you are not able to make a monetary donation you can help raise awareness by simply spreading the word about the campaign, or leading a helping hand to those dealing with the effects.

It has been seven years now since I lost my mother and I miss her still to this day. I like to think that she is up there, smiling at the things I have done and watching over the grandkids she never really got to know. Why do I relay? I relay so that one day people will not have to have stories like mine. I relay to let family members and friends know they are not alone, and there is support.  I relay to give people hope that one day we will find a cure.


Wearing:

Outfit: *N* – Sakura Petal @ The Fantasy Faire
Skin: 7 Deadly s{K}ins – DROW Sloth
Hair: Analog Dog – iota – light browns @ The Fantasy Faire
horns: Spyralle Lightbearer of Hope (RFL) with headpiece  @ The Fantasy Faire

Tattoo: .::Nanika::.Mahika tattoo @ SaNaRae 

Scene: Simply Shelby – Summer Ruins (pose included) @ The Fantasy Faire

4 thoughts on “Why I relay

  1. kerryth says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. I am one of the lucky ones, a three time survivor so far. I am here today because of the research made possible by the ACS, so your support of Relay for Life means a lot to me. Thank you! Thank you also for using Spyralle’s LIghtbearer in your post. The photo is lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

